Ap0c's Atrix Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Me the software developer

Go down

Me the software developer Empty Me the software developer

Post  Ap0c Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:23 pm

Ok, so I must admit I'm not a software developer in the sense that I have a computer science degree or work in the field. I don't. I like programming (or 'scripting' as 'real' programmers refer to what I do, since I'm not doing bitwise manipulations in C or assembly), hacked around as a kid, and considered a minor in college in computer science but decided to sell my soul to the devil and do [UNSPECIFIED OTHER THINGS] instead. I forgot about it until for some strange reason I got into it again as a diversion while scripting in AGS (adventure game studio), which is C-like, and realized that it was fun. I then stumbled into Python, which I discovered can do almost anything and lets me make programs more sophisticated than I have any right trying to do. I've tried messing around with C and C++ and C# and .net and javascript and other stuff, but it all seemed so much work to do the equivalent of what python could do in just a few lines, so I kept coming back, even for the gui stuff. I began making python programs to help me organize myself, to convert images in batch, to convert pdf files to html files so I could read them on previous non-smart phones, to make map editors and other fun stuff for game making, to convert video, and I realized that people didn't have to know how dumb I was when I was using python, since if the program works, they don't ask questions. So now I've made a sideloader gui program for sideloading apps onto the ATT-locked Android phones and it seems to be relatively popular. It took me a little under a week of evenings hacking to get it working, which is a bit quicker than other projects I've done. My first version, which worked fine for the most part, was downloaded about 50 times in the course of a